Kookaburras Brace Up for Test Series vs New Zealand

Australian men’s hockey after their clean sweep of their four Test series at home against Malaysia, would take on trans-tasman rivals New Zealand in another four Test series in New Zealand later this month. The Test series was slated to happen between May 10 and May 14 but had to put off owing to Covid-19 concerns over the New Zealand men’s hockey team.

Read Class of Kookaburras Amply Evident in Four Test Series Against Malaysia!

Hockey New Zealand – the organisers of the four Test series – resceduled the four Test series from May 31 to June 5. The first Test will be played on May 31, the second Test will be held on June 2, followed by back-to-back matches on June 4 and 5 respectively. Meanwhile, the Australian women’s hockey team are embarking on a tour of New Zealand where they would play four Test series between May 10 and 15. The international assignements against Australia are their first for New Zealand men and women hockey teams since the 2021 Tokyo Olympics.

The Test series would help Australia prepare for the Birmingham 2022 Commonwealth Games.