Punjab Police Win 70th All India Police Hockey Tournament

Punjab Police were dealth a big blow ahead of their 70th All India Police Hockey Tournament Final against ITBP, Jallandhar when their experienced forward and Olympian Ramandeep Singh was forced out of the match owing to an injury. But his absence in the end pumped up the Punjab cops as they inflicted a 7-1 thrashing to ITBP outfit at the Field Marshal KM Cariappa Hockey Stadium, Bengaluru.

Read 70th All India Police Hockey: Punjab Police to meet ITBP in Final

Hardeep Singh, Karanbir Singh and Kanwarjeet Singh put Punjab Police in a commanding position, scoring once to give them a cozy 3-0 half-time lead. A late first-half goal from Sunil Kujjur was not enough for ITBP, Jallandhar to stop the rampaging Punjab Police side.

Read 70th All India Police Hockey: Defending Champions CRPF Knocked Out in Quarterfinals

The Punjab cops offered no respite in the second half as they rattled the ITBP cage on four more occasions – Karanbir Singh added his second while Jagmeet Singh, Dupinderjeet Singh and Balwinder Singh completed the decimation job. The championship was organised by Karnataka State Police. Tamil Nadu Police finished third after thumping hosts Karnataka Police 6-0.