70th All India Police Hockey: Defending Champions CRPF Knocked Out in Quarterfinals

Defending Champions CRPF, Delhi were knockout out of the quarterfinal stage of the 70th All India Police Hockey Tournament being organised by the Karnataka State Police at the Field Marshal KM Cariappa Hockey Stadium, Bengaluru. The CRPF outfit were handed a 1-2 defeat by ITBP, Jallandhar. They suffered an early reverse when Jaswinder Singh drew first blood for ITBP. However, CRPF put things on an equal footing when they scored via Bikash Kujur. It needed a penalty corner conversion by Ravi Xess midway through the second half that helped ITBP break the deadlock and come out winners.

Read 70th All India Police Hockey: Defending Champions CRPF, Punjab Police Romp into Quarterfinals

Hosts Karnataka Police had to battle hard before eking out a solitary goal win over Jharkhand Police. Tamil Nadu Police pipped Odisha Police 2-1 to reach the semifinals. Punjab Police also made it to the semifinals humbling CISF, Delhi 2-0.

As many as 30 teams are taking part in the championship that concludes on December 11. It may be worth recalling that the All India Police Hockey Tournament is being held after a gap of one year owing to the Covid-19 pandemic. CRPF, Delhi had won the 2019 edition beating BSF, Jallandhar 4-2 in the final. Odisha Police had pipped Haryana Police 3-0 to finish third in the 2019 edition.