31st Lal Bahadur Shastri Hockey Tournament: Railways, Indian Oil reach semis

38th Surjit Hockey Tournament champions Indian Railways and Indian Oil hit the groove when it mattered to join Punjab National Bank (PNB) in the semifinals of the 31st Lal Bahadur Shastri Hockey Tournament being played at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi. The railmen vanquished Comptroller & Auditor General of India (CAG) 4-in an exciting encounter – their victory was powered by a brace from Pardeep Singh as well as strikes from Joginder Singh and Raju Pal.

Read 31st Lal Bahadur Shastri Hockey: Punjab National Bank Seal Semis Berth

Indian Railways along with Punjab National Bank (PNB) have reached the semifinals from Pool A. Indian Oil after a sluggish start to their campaign, found their moorings and pipped Delhi XI 3-1 to secure their semifinal passage. Indian Air Force is also looking good to enter the semifinals with one win and one draw from their first two matches and have one more game against Haryana XI to be played on Thursday.

Read Railways, Indian Oil, Punjab National Bank Favourites in 31st Lal Bahadur Shastri Hockey Tourney

Winners in Recent Years

Winning TeamRunners-UpResultYear
Air IndiaNCOE Sonipat5-4 (1-12019
Punjab National BankAir India2-12018
Punjab National BankIndian Railways5-32017
Punjab National BankNamdhari XI5-22016
ONGCIndian Railways5-2 (2-2)2015