India in Junior Men’s Hockey World Cup

The inaugural Junior Men’s Hockey World Cup was held at Versailles, France, where Pakistan cornered glory putting it across West Germany 2-0 in the title clash. As many as 12 nations participated – besides Pakistan, West Germany, Netherlands, Malaysia, Singapore, India, Ghana, Ireland Spain, Argentina, and Chile and hosts France. India finished 5th after swamping Argentina 6-1 in a classification match. India went on to finish 5th at the 1982 and 1985 Junior Men’s Hockey World Cups. India did not play in the 1989 and 1992 editions – but they came with a bang in the 1997 edition finishing runners-up before going to win the crown in the 2001 edition. India finished 4th in the 2005 edition also held at Australia. The national team finished 9th and 10th respectively in 2009 and 2013 before going to win the crown for the second time in their own backyard in 2016.

1979Versailles, France5th
1982Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia5th
1985Vancouver, Canada5th
1989Ipoh, MalaysiaDNP
1993Terrassa, SpainDNP
1997Milton Keynes, EnglandSilver
2001Hobart, AustraliaGold
2005Rotterdam, Netherlands4th
2009Johor Bahru, Malaysia9th
2013New Delhi, India10th
2016Lucknow, IndiaGold