Indian Women’s Hockey Team Hit Training Drills After Tokyo Olympics High

The Indian women’s hockey team have deservedly savoured all the adulation and love from various quarters following their lion-hearted 4th place finish at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. At best, a quarterfinal finish at Tokyo would have been considered a ‘massive achievement’ for the Indian eves, who had to settle for the wooden spoon at the 2016 Rio Olympics. But our girls conquered the quarterfinal frontier with a stunning win over red-hot favourites Australia and narrowly went down to Argentina in the bronze medal play-off tie. A 4th place finish seemed much more than a bronze medal for the girls, who were teeming with self-belief, resilience, and determined to make a statement on the Olympic stage.

The Indian eves would now look to build on their pugnacious 4th place finish at the Tokyo Olympics as they gear up for the upcoming Asian Champions Trophy slated to be held at Donghae, South Korea from October 24-31 among other international engagements. The national women’s side hit the training drills at the national camp at the SAI Centre in Bengaluru – the camp will run till October 20.
The national probables announced by Hockey India has more or less has the entire Tokyo Olympics team members. The selectors handed out recalls to experienced Lilima Minz, Rashmita Minz, Jyoti, Rajwinder Kaur and Manpreet Kaur. Four junior players – Gagandeep Kaur, Mariana Kujur, Suman Devi Thoudam and Mahima Choudhary have made it to the senior core group.

Three members of the Tokyo Olympics squad – midfielder Salima Tete and the forward duo of Lalremsiami and Sharmila Devi would be joining the ongoing junior women’s team camp at the same SAI campus. The junior women’s team is gearing up for the FIH Junior World Cup scheduled to be held at Potchefstroom, South Africa from December 5-16.

Core Probable Group
Savita, Rajani Etimarpu, Deep Grace Ekka, Reena Khokhar, Manpreet Kaur, Gurjit Kaur, Nisha Warsi, Nikki Pradhan, Monika, Neha, Lilima Minz, Sushila Chanu Pukhrambam, Namita Toppo, Rani, Vandana Katariya, Navjot Kaur, Navneet Kaur, Rajwinder Kaur, Udita, Rashmita Minz, Jyoti, Gagandeep Kaur, Mariana Kujur, Suman Devi Thoudam, Mahima Choudhary.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *